# **CHESHIRE EAST COUNCIL**

Minutes of a meeting of the **Outside Organisations Sub-Committee** held on Monday, 13th September, 2010 at Committee Suite 3, Westfields, Middlewich Road, Sandbach CW11 1HZ

## PRESENT:

Councillors D Brickhill, R Cartlidge, P Findlow, S Jones, P Whiteley and J Wray

## 1 ELECTION OF CHAIRMAN

#### **RESOLVED**:

That Councillor Shirley Jones be elected Chairman of the Sub-Committee to serve for the remainder of the Municipal Year.

## 2 DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST

No declarations of interest were made.

## 3 PUBLIC SPEAKING TIME/OPEN SESSION

In the absence of members of the public, the Sub-Committee proceeded to its next item of business.

## 4 APPOINTMENTS TO OUTSIDE ORGANISATIONS

The Sub-Committee considered a report which:

- updated Members on matters dealt with by the former Task Group;
- sought resolution of issues associated with some appointments;
- suggested additions to the approved list of outside organisations;
- gave details of the appointments process adopted by the former Task Group;
- invited the Sub-Committee to adopt a programme of work leading up to appointments in May 2011;
- indicated, for information, a number of matters to be submitted to the next Cabinet meeting; and
- provided background information on the appointments process.

The Sub-Committee noted that at its meeting held on 24 June 2010, the Constitution Committee had appointed an Outside Organisations Sub-Committee of six Members, in accordance with the rules of political proportionality (4:1:1) comprising the following membership:

Councillors D Brickhill, R Cartlidge, J P Findlow, S Jones, P Whiteley and J Wray

The Sub-Committee, which replaced the former Task Group (Outside Organisations), had been appointed on the following basis:

- (a) to serve for the remainder of the Municipal Year;
- (b) to meet on an *ad hoc* basis;
- (c) to oversee appointments to Category 2 outside organisations in general, and to address any issues which emerge in respect of those appointments;
- (d) to continue with the review started by the former Task Group in respect of establishing the effectiveness and appropriateness of representation; and
- (e) to report back to the Constitution Committee as and when it considers appropriate within the Municipal Year.

In considering the report, Members made the following comments:

## <u>Cheshire Landfill Tax Advisory Panel</u>

It had been understood that Councillor Brickhill had resigned from the Cheshire Landfill Tax Advisory Panel, and the nomination of Councillor S Wilkinson, as his replacement, had subsequently been received in Democratic Services. At the meeting, Councillor Brickhill confirmed that whilst he had resigned his place on a number of outside organisations, he had not resigned from this Advisory Panel.

The Sub-Committee agreed to recommend that no changes in representation be made at this time, but that further enquiries of the organisation be undertaken to establish its current activities and if it still held meetings.

## Programme of Work

The proposed programme of work leading up to the appointments process in May 2011 required revision to the timing. The elections would be held on 5 May 2011 and Committees/Sub-Committees could not be established until Annual Council on 18 May 2011.

Appointments to outside organisations would be considered at the first Sub-Committee meeting in the new Municipal Year, which was expected to be in mid-June 2011.

## List of organisations

The list of Support Officers for each outside organisation was incomplete, and required further information to identify how frequently, if at all, Support Officers attended meetings of the outside organisation they supported. The list required further expansion (a) to include information where the appointment of Councillors attracted a financial remuneration paid direct to Members, by the organisation itself; and (b) to identify the individual workload of each Councillor appointed to an outside organisation(s).

# **RESOLVED** -

- 1. That the Constitution Committee be recommended to RESOLVE:
  - (i) That the following Councillors be appointed to the casual vacancies indicated:
  - (a) Eaton Hall Sand Quarry Liaison Group, Congleton: Councillor A Knowles
  - (b) King's School, Macclesfield: Councillor H Gaddum
  - (c) Wilmslow Trust: Councillor D Stockton

(ii) That, in respect of Amos Johnson Fund, the nomination of a Conservative Councillor be supported (Councillor to be named at the Constitution Committee meeting);

(iii) That no change be made in the representation on Cheshire Landfill Tax Advisory Panel (ie Councillor D Brickhill to remain as the representative);

(iv) That Linden Bank Community Liaison Group be added to the list of Category 2 organisations, and Councillor Barry Moran be appointed as the Council's representative;

(v) That Maw Green Landfill Site Community Liaison Meeting be added to the list of Category 2 organisations, and Councillors J Hammond and C G Thorley be appointed as the representatives, subject to the establishment of the legal implications of representation;

(vi) That the Association for Public Service Excellence (APSE) be added to the list of Category 2 organisations, and Councillor J P Findlow be appointed as the Council's representative; and

(vii) That Cabinet be asked to agree to the re-designation of the Standing Advisory Council for Religious Education (SACRE) as a Category 2 organisation.

- 2. That the programme of work for the Sub-Committee be approved, subject to a revision to the timetable, as discussed;
- 3. That a revised list of outside organisations, expanded as discussed, be submitted to the next meeting; and
- 4. That the procedure for making appointments be endorsed.

## 5 DATE OF NEXT MEETING

Members discussed arrangements for the next meeting of the Sub-Committee. It was expected that following an initial evaluation of the monitoring and feedback forms, it may be necessary for Members to meet in November.

#### **RESOLVED**:

That the Chairman, in consultation with Democratic Services, make arrangements for the next meeting of the Sub-Committee.

The meeting commenced at 10.00 am and concluded at 11.25 am

Councillor Shirley Jones (Chairman)